National Day : 17th December

General information

Kingdom of Bhutan, a small Himalayan country share its border with two Asian giants; China in the north and India in the south. The total area of the country is approximately 38,394 km2. Thimphu is Bhutan’s capital city. Bhutan has a diverse geographical landscape that ranges from sub-tropical plains in the south to the sub-alpine Himalayan heights in the north.

Fact and Figure

  1. Population: 757,679 (2014, National Statistical Bureau)
  2. GDP per capita:  Nu.142,983.7 (2013)
  3. Currency: Ngultrum (Nu.)
  4. Official language: Dzongkha

  • Kingdom of Bhutan
  • Head of State

    His Majesty the King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck

  • Minister of Foreign Affairs

    H.E Mr. Tshering Tobgay, Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs

  • Contact of ACD Mission

    Royal Bhutanese Embassy, Kuwait